

## **Press Release** THE FORMATION OF THE EUROPEAN UNIVERSITY ALLIANCE "4EU"

21 March, 2018: Following intensive discussions during 2017, four strong European research universities—Charles University (Czech Republic), Heidelberg University (Germany), Sorbonne University (France) and the University of Warsaw (Poland)—have founded a strategic European partnership, built on existing academic collaborations.

This European University Alliance aims to create a new quality of cooperation in research, teaching, education and administration and to establish the appropriate infrastructure which will bring together researchers, students and staff from the four institutions. The cooperation is based on a common understanding of the idea of the European university that builds on academic freedom and autonomy and ensures fair access to education. The presidents of the four universities signed a corresponding Declaration in Paris on Saturday, 10 March, 2018.

This Alliance will step up the cooperation and optimize the environment for creativity in teaching & learning, research and innovation. It will remove obstacles to free circulation of individuals, ideas and best practices between their universities by creating an open space and atmosphere.

The four universities see the Alliance as their responsibility for making a common effective contribution to solving important societal challenges for Europe and beyond.

Press contacts:

Charles University Vaclav Hajek +420 224 491 248 pr@cuni.cz

Sorbonne University Katherine Tyrka +33 (0)1 44 27 51 05 katherine.tyrka@sorbonne-universite.fr University of Warsaw Anna Korzekwa-Józefowicz +48 602 262 552 spokesperson@uw.edu.pl

Universität Heidelberg Marietta Fuhrmann-Koch +49 6221 54 19012 kum@uni-heidelberg.de